Must-read: Griffin mage trilogy

På sin vis er disse covers super smukke, og på sin vis er der et eller andet lídt “off” ved dem, men det er nu ikke kun forsiderne ved denne serie, der fangede min interesse (hvilket det jo oftest er), det var faktisk den skønne bagsidetekst ned dets farlige elementer og lovningen om et fantastisk eventyr.

Ovenover fik I, som I jo nok allerede ved, coversne. Hele serien er allerede udgivet, og jeg har faktisk netop købt bøgerne i en samlet hardback udgave, som ellers var ret svær at få fingrene i. Der er dog laaang tid før den er fremme, for den er købt fra USA med en voldsom lang leveringstid (21 dage – plus/minus lidt). Øv.

Her er så en smule om selve seriens handling:

The desert winds have come to the village of Minas Ford. Griffins, creatures of fire, have appeared in a burning haze – searing the sky a blinding white and scorching the earth to parched, barren sand. These majestic beasts, half-lion, half-eagle, spread the arid desert wherever they roam. Iaor, the King of Feierabiand, will not tolerate the destruction of his people’s farmland. He means to drive the griffins from his domain – whether by negotiation or brute force. But not all those who encounter the griffins fear them. Kes, a timid village girl, is summoned to heal the King of the Griffins himself. She will discover her affinity with these creatures, and come to realise that the menace they flee is even more deadly than the blazing fires of the desert.

Mens jeg ledte efter ovenstående tekst (hentet fra amazon.co.uk), faldt jeg også lige over denne på Goodreads – den er en smule anderledes, men lyder mindst lige så spændende:

Griffins lounged all around them, inscrutable as cats, brazen as summer. They turned their heads to look at Kes out of fierce, inhuman eyes. Their feathers, ruffled by the wind that came down the mountain, looked like they had been poured out of light; their lion haunches like they had been fashioned out of gold. A white griffin, close at hand, looked like it had been made of alabaster and white marble and then lit from within by white fire. Its eyes were the pitiless blue-white of the desert sky.

Little ever happens in the quiet villages of peaceful Feierabiand. The course of Kes’ life seems set: she’ll grow up to be an herb-woman and healer for the village of Minas Ford, never quite fitting in but always more or less accepted. And she’s content with that path — or she thinks she is. Until the day the griffins come down from the mountains, bringing with them the fiery wind of their desert and a desperate need for a healer. But what the griffins need is a healer who is not quite human . . . or a healer who can be made into something not quite human.

Nogle af jer som har nogle erfaringer med denne serie? Eller som har overvejet den?

2 thoughts on “Must-read: Griffin mage trilogy

  1. Det var da træls, at I ikke kunne tage de store, prangende med hjem.:/ Men fire masker er stadig en god høst! Det tror jeg ikke, at du fik sagt. xD Uh, hvor gad jeg godt have sådan en maske.😀

    Ja, det er jeg. Elsker mine nye reoler, hvor jeg nemt kan komme til alle mine bøger.😀

    • Åhh, det er altså en af de ting jeg glæder mig til, når vi flytter (hvilket nok først er om mange år) – at vi forhåbentligt får plads til flere reoler, for allerede nu er jeg begyndt at stille i to rækker, lægge bøgerne vandret hen over m.m. Hehe.

Skriv et svar

